What The Hell Have I Done

This…this is a blog, is what this is. Something you have to update somewhat frequently. I am not in any way prepared for this.

Douglas Adams once said that he loved deadlines for the pleasant whoosh sound they made as they flew by. I’ve always sympathized with this sentiment very strongly. If this reeks of laziness, I should probably leave out the fact that, in my case, these deadlines are largely self-imposed. I would do terrible, terrible things for the right to actually have the public care enough about what I write to warrant somebody getting on my ass over dragging my feet on my next masterwork. When I write, I do it for me, and I still don’t do it. I’m too lazy to do something that’s for my own enjoyment.

Ironically, I’m great with real deadlines. All through my school years I rarely missed an assignment, or handed one in late. I procrastinate the hell out of them almost every time, true, but they get turned in perfectly on schedule. Apparently I care more about appearing to be a hard worker than I do about actually working with any vigor. Fuck you, subconscious.

So why a blog? Consider this an attempt to go cold turkey, assuming it’s actually possible to quit not doing something. I’m throwing myself into the deep end so I can learn how to swim by channeling my much deeper need to not drown and die. Of course, nobody is going to kill me if I don’t update my blog – I can only dream of a day when enough people enjoy my writing that it could provoke at least one deranged fan to try to murder me if I stop – but I don’t want to embarrass myself, especially after ranting about my own laziness for this long. It’s never a good thing when your last known blog post consists solely of “please, God, don’t let this be my last blog post.” The internet has enough well-documented public nervous breakdowns, so the last thing I want is for my most famous writings to be an exhaustive, Lovecraftian diary of my own dwindling sanity as a paradoxical result of my own inability to keep that very blog updated.

So, you know…let’s hope that doesn’t happen.

From this blog, expect deep analysis (read: rabid rants, positive and negative) of whatever pop culture I’ve taken in lately and have a strong opinion about. Editorials may be vicious, reviews will probably be effusive. And occasionally vicious. Expect (hopefully lengthy) interviews with anybody who interests me and will return my e-mails. Snippets of fiction might show up occasionally. God willing, so will links to various projects I’m considering starting up (homebrew tabletop RPG systems probably making up most of these, because during lean seasons I tend to produce half-formed game ideas at a disturbing rate), but after they are introduced they will be mentioned minimally outside of their respective separate pages. If you come here for rants about disappointing comic book crossover events, why Halo sucks and the overrated or underrated status of whatever band I just heard for the first time, I won’t bore you with why my homemade universal roleplaying system is clearly superior to all other homemade universal roleplaying systems (I’m looking at you, Hybrid). I may even keep different media in different categories for just this reason.

Expect any updates that might magically happen on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays or weekends.

We’ll see how that goes.

– Robbi Ramirez, last of the freelance hackers and greatest swordfighter in the world.

One Response to “What The Hell Have I Done”

  1. Josie Says:

    I’d be proud to be a maddened, rioting fan. POST OR I’LL KILL YOU.

    I’m so helpful.

Leave a Reply

